School is fast approaching!

With the start of school (for both the kids and myself) fast approaching I took some time tonight to put together some freezer meals for the school year. I searched pinterest up and down looking for a handful of recipes that my family would actually eat. I finished prepping 5 different meals today. While I was at it, I doubled the recipes and made 2 batches of each (10 meals in all), I figured it would save time later down the road. For a busy mom and college student– time is $$<dollar signs>$$ flashing before my eyes! I actually have 2 more meals left to prep tomorrow as those meals required to cook the meat portion before freezing. The recipes I made today were more “throw everything in the bag and let it cook in the crock pot later” meals!

freezer meals 1

This is what my freezer looks like right now. I have plenty of space to add the 4 other meal bags tomorrow! I was kind of worried about space.

I haven’t tried any of these meals yet, but will update you on our favorites after we try them. I am always on the hunt for easy week-night meals so please send some my way in the comments!

After prepping the meals and eating dinner I was in the mood for something sweet. I have been on a no processed sugar “cleanse” for the past month or so. Tonight for my sweet treat I used a recipe that was posted on a blog that I frequently read. Instead of using plum’s like Jen did on her blog, I used the over ripe peaches that the kids refused to eat today, due to being “too mushy.”

peach crisp

It turned out so good!

I just cut peaches in half. Drizzled them with a little agave (or you could use honey but I ran out of my favorite local honey.) Then I sprinkled the top, very generously, with cinnamon. I baked at 350 for about 20 min. Then I added my favorite granola- Udi’s vanilla granola (it doesn’t have any added sugar, just honey) and put back into the oven for another 6-8 minutes or until the granola was slightly brown. This was a nice adult treat while the hubs and I watched some shows off the DVR after the kids went to sleep!</p

*~Michelle~*

The list of recipes I made today:

(I will post the other 2 recipes I make, after completing them tomorrow!)

Hearty Beef Stew:

Ingredients

1 pound beef stew cubes

4 carrots, sliced

4 red potatoes, cut into large cubes

1 package dry onion soup mix

2 cans cream of mushroom soup (can use the fat free ones)

1 (8oz) can tomato sauce (I used organic)

1 (10oz) package frozen green peas

Directions

Place all ingredients in a resealable gallon-sized freezer bag. Mix together and zip bag closed. After freezing, thaw in fridge for 24 hours. Cook on LOW for 7-10 hours or HIGH for 5-6 hours.

Chicken Broccoli Alfredo:

Ingredients

1.5 lbs chicken breasts

1 (16oz) bag frozen broccoli

2 (16oz) jars alfredo sauce

1 large green pepper, chopped (mine had gone bad so I left it out)

Directions

Place all ingredients in a resealable gallon-sized freezer bag. Mix together and zip closed. After freezing, thaw in fridge for 24 hours. Cook on LOW for 4-6 hours.

Creamy Ranch Pork Chops and Potatoes

 Ingredients

1.5 lbs boneless pork chops, (about 4-6)

6-8 medium potatoes, cut into large chunks

2 cans cream of chicken soup

2 (1oz) packages dry Ranch dressing

1 cup milk

Directions

Place the milk, Ranch packages and cream of chicken soup at the bottom of a gallon sized freezer bag, and mix to combine. Then add the pork chops and potatoes. Seal closed. After freezing, thaw in fridge for 24 hours. Cook on LOW 6-7 hours or HIGH 3-4 hours. The sauce makes a great gravy to use on the pork chops!

Cheesy Chicken, Broccoli, and Rice Casserole:

Ingredients

1 lb chicken breasts cut into bite size pieces

1/2 can cream of celery soup

1 can cream of mushroom soup

2 cups uncooked rice

2 heads of broccoli cut into bite sized pieces

1 cup shredded cheese

Directions

Place all ingredients in a resealable gallon-sized freezer bag. Mix together and zip closed. After freezing, thaw in fridge for 24 hours. Add 1 cup of water to the crock-pot, then cook on LOW for 6 hours or HIGH for 4 hours.

Creamy Italian Chicken:

Ingredients

4 chicken breasts

1 (8oz) package cream cheese, softened

1 can cream of chicken soup

1 dry packet Italian Dressing

Directions

Place all ingredients in a resealable gallon-sized freezer bag. Mix together and zip closed. After freezing, thaw in fridge for 24 hours. Cook on LOW 4-6 hours.

This entry was posted in Our Life, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

